Book Review: Soul Antiquary by Lianne Willowmoon

⭐️⭐️⭐️ 3 out of 5 stars

I’m really torn with this review. There were several aspects of this book that left me giddy and screaming “five stars!” while other aspects had me shaking my head and asking “really?” Do I recommend Soul Antiquary? Yes! But I would caution all who read it to suspend belief and be willing to allow a few things to slide.

“But Jessica,” you say, “after reading the blurb it’s obvious this is a paranormal fantasy. Of course I’m going to suspend belief. What’s wrong with you?” To which I’d say, it’s not the fantasy element I had problems with. It was the real-world aspects of the story that feel rushed and/or incomplete. Example: In the first chapters our main character, apparently a famous photographer, decides at the drop of a hat to move from the city to the middle-of-nowhere. In a matter of a day (okay, two because he had to drive home and pack) he’s managed to not only buy a new house, he’s emptying his previous home and leaving keys on the kitchen counter for his realtor. Say what? Have you ever bought a house? Anybody have the process take less than several weeks?

Maybe because this unrealistic home-buying escapade took place so early in the book and it set me on edge watching for similar events, but I felt like all the real-life turns of Soul Antiquary were just too easy, too pat. Perhaps they won’t twitch others as much as they did me, but to each his or her own.

Now, that said, the paranormal element of this story was riveting! As in “OMG! What a crazy cool concept!” I couldn’t get enough. I found myself reading late into the night to see what craziness might happen next. It was addicting.

So, my final take away from Soul Antiquary? Reality bites, but fantasy rules!

Please, give this book a look-see. Soul Antiquary is not currently enrolled in Kindle Unlimited, but you can nab an e-book here for only $3.99

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑