Book Review: Phenomenon by Faye Mussett


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️4 out of 5 stars  

Have you ever had one of those thoughts? You know, the ones where you imagine the worst happening to you or a loved one? Or when you picture the stranger across the room having some awful / embarrassing fate befall them? If you said no, I don’t believe you. It’s human nature to picture events, good or bad, in our mind’s eye. But what if your mind had the power to turn those spur-of-the-moment musings into reality? Terrifying, right?

Well, that’s what seems to be happening for young Chloe. At a mere 24 yrs old, she’s had to deal with her own share of misfortune. Within the past year Chloe’s mom, their anchor and port in a storm, passed away and now Chloe lives at home with her chronically adrift father and storm-tossed younger brother. Still drowning in her own grief, she’s forced to take on the mantle of motherhood, helping her father raise the much-younger Finn.

The whole first half of the book really centers on Chloe and her family. As a reader I got a really great sense of what Chloe was going through, which really invested me for the second half when Chloe’s life really unravels. (I used ‘really’ a lot here, I know, but it is what it is. 🤓)

At first, the bad things happening around Chloe could be chalked up to mere coincidence, but as the events get bigger and scarier it’s clear Fate isn’t to blame. Someone, or something, is giving Fate a nudge. The last straw for Chloe was so gut wrenching and heartbreaking (no spoilers, I promise) that I actually had to put down my Kindle for a while, take some deep breaths, and regroup. I haven’t had a story really sucker punch me like that in a while. 

My only complaint about the story is that, in the end, Chloe’s fate is left hanging. Perhaps it was intentional, since life is sometimes like that, and it’s up to the reader to decide how they want to picture Chloe’s future? Maybe if I think about it hard enough, it’ll come true for her? Think good thoughts!

This is yet another great book available free to Kindle Unlimited subscribers HERE


**I received an electronic copy of this book from the author which I then chose to voluntarily review** 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

