⭐️⭐️⭐️💫3.5 out of 5 stars  
This is a tough review for me to write. I really enjoyed this book, yet there were some issues I can’t currently overlook. 

Let’s start with what worked: Graeme Cooper wrote a really intriguing fantasy. I particularly enjoyed the prologue. The shadowy cabal, meeting to discuss some nebulous, nefarious plans to overthrow the current establishment, was very quickly and effectively portrayed. It set a great tone for the rest of the action. I also appreciated the way the main characters were introduced. For such a short novel (180 pages according to Amazon) there was a lot of relevant history and world building conveyed. Truly impressive! This book is the first in a series, and the ending was that elusive blend of resolution mixed with unfinished business that leaves a reader satisfied and eager for the next book. Well done!

So what was my issue? Editing. Unfortunately, the version I read was rife with typos, past/present tense irregularities, and grammatical errors. Luckily for future readers, I made notes for the author and have forwarded all my findings for his review. I feel confident that another editing pass will provide Shadows of the Past the polish it deserves. It really is a gem. 

So, rating this tale is difficult. If I only rated the book on what I experienced while reading this version, I would have to give it 3 stars. But if I overlook the errors (which I believe will soon be rectified) then the book is a solid 4 stars. That means I will settle this rating at 3.5 stars. I will certainly be seeking out the next book, due to be released in June of this year, and look forward to re-entering Graeme Cooper’s world. 

If you’d like to check out Shadows of the Past, you can do so HERE.   

**I received an electronic copy of this book from the author which I then chose to voluntarily review**

