⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4 out of 5 stars

Do you ever read a book and think, “If I’d only read this before…?” I certainly was asking myself this question as I read The Claiming of Callan. 

This is my second foray into a world created by Connie (the first being Bound by Steel…. if you haven’t read Steel, do so! After you read this one LOL). I think I would’ve enjoyed The Claiming of Callan so much more if I wasn’t anticipating a Lafortune Lurch (those of you who have read Bound by Steel will know what I’m talking about). This is a really enjoyable read, don’t get me wrong, but I kept waiting for the shocking plot twist (aka the Lurch) that was going to leave me reeling. This just isn’t that kind of story. So first: If only I’d read this book before Bound by Steel.

If you’re looking for sexy times, this book is chock-full of them. The main characters are twenty one and they go after each other like bunnies. Sexy bunnies. Oh, to be so sexually carefree again… to not worry about the little one interrupting or the teenager upstairs hearing you… but I digress, sort of. If I were closer to my twenties than my forties I might have related to these characters a little bit more. So second: If only I’d read this book before I became a responsible (wet blanket?) adult.

As it was, I wanted to reach through the pages and throttle Logan Black. He’s one of those (young) men who think it’s better to just squash your feelings down and ignore your problems. The way he treated Callan made me angry. And she was always right there ready and eager to forgive him. While I understand these two really do love one another, I wanted to see Logan have to work just a little harder for forgiveness. Too realistic of me? Maybe. 

All in all, The Claiming of Callan was an enjoyable read. There was tension, conflict, a little mystery, and a HEA. What more could you want?

**I recieved a free copy of this book from the author which I then chose to voluntarily review** If you’re looking to score your own copy, visit Amazon HERE and download it (and then grab Bound by Steel)

