Book Review: Seeing Evil by Jason Parent

img_3631⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5 out of 5 stars

“Seeing Evil” had me seeing red! Wowza. What a ride. The evil in this story is made all the more compelling because it’s just all too possible! It made me mad, sad, and I even (almost) cried a couple times.

I went into this knowing not to expect rainbows and puppies, but I wasn’t really prepared for the gut wrenching horror the main characters (two teenagers and a hard-boiled homicide detective) were exposed to: bullying, a school shooting, child abuse, and murder(s) most foul. As a parent, I could actually picture the events (psychic premonitions notwithstanding) happening somewhere in my oldest child’s circle of friends. Talk about nightmares! Yet I couldn’t put this book down.

The story was extremely compelling and even though some of the characters do bad things you’re able to relate and forgive them (not you Mr. Masterson, you’re as evil as they come and I feel completely justified in hating you). The ending was satisfying… not in a happily-ever-after way, but more like a happy-as-you-could-expect-given-everything-that-preceded-it way, and I was okay with that.

To me, the surest sign of a five-star read is my start to finish time, and considering I read it in three sittings (with a full time work schedule and a family to feed and care for) this one surely qualifies! Not for the faint of heart but certainly a roller-coaster ride worthy of daredevils, I will be looking for more books by Mr. Parent.

As of 11/13/16 you can read it free on Kindle Unlimited. Please check it out!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

