Book Review: Painful Deliverance by Ann Pratley

Painful Deliverance, read September 16-17, 2016

5 out of 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 

From the first page of Painful Deliverance I was hooked. I thought I knew the nature and reason for Alexis’s flight from her ‘mystery man,’ but I should know by now not to make assumptions! Their relationship was not quite what I expected and that made for a delicious twist. Yes, the book has a very strong sexual component, which can be inferred just from the book’s title and cover imagery, and as long as readers go into it knowing to expect it they shouldn’t be overly shocked. 

Alexis’s journey toward escape resonated with me. Perhaps it’s my experience working in the women’s health field and the resultant exposure to domestic violence survivors, but so much of her past (revealed throughout the story in a series of flashbacks) was reminiscent to me of the cycles of abuse: tension, the violence itself (in whatever form it occurs) followed by the honeymoon and remorse. I don’t know if it was an intentional allegory on the author’s part, but it’s what I took away from it.

Her journey toward healing was a sweet and tender one. The chance meeting of Anthony, a man in need of healing himself, was a much needed anchor in Alexis’s otherwise turbulent tale. I will definitely seek out the next book in the series!

Pick up your copy on Amazon.com (as of 11/11/16 it’s FREE so snap up your copy now)

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

