Book Review: For Love of the Phantom by Davyne DeSye

Next up for my review backlog: For Love of the Phantom which I read September 3-10, 2016. 

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 5 out of 5 stars

Like many readers, my prior exposure to the story of Christine and her Phantom was solely from the theatrical presentation. I confess I’ve always been curious as to “what happened after?” Happily, the tale woven by Ms. DeSye provides a gripping and plausible continuation of the tale. 

Having never read the original work by Leroux, I was curious and so have begun to read it and am pleased to report that the style and tone of “For Love of the Phantom” feels organically harmonious with the original work, while at the same time is welcoming to today’s reading audience unfamiliar with the oft formal styles of classical literature. 

I must admit, since I had always held a vision of Christine and Raoul living their hard-won happily ever after, I was disappointed (initially) to learn this was not the case in Ms. DeSye’s continuation But my disappointment was short-lived. The true romance of the story, the ability to love another for WHO they are, not what they appear or what they have done in the past transcended my pique at having my assumptions about the character’s futures dashed. 

Overall I found this to be a highly entertaining story bringing me back to characters I have long loved. Bravo! Highly recommended for lovers of historical romance or those simply infatuated with the Opera Ghost and his beloved Miss Daaè.

Get your copy HERE. I promise you’ll enjoy it!

One thought on “Book Review: For Love of the Phantom by Davyne DeSye

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

