⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4 1/2 out of 5 stars 

Having already read another novella from this author, Cinders, I was familiar with his concept of twisting a fairy tale into a new and darker retelling. What I wasn’t prepared for was the idea of Pocahontas getting such a treatment; regardless, I loved it. 

The wild, young American West was a wonderful setting for the story and Hontas (as Pocahontas is know in this tale) as a bounty hunter was a great twist. I genuinely loved the story, the narrative was rich and the dialogue true to life. I enjoyed the struggle Hontas faced trying to reconcile her life as a Red Indian with the life she lived riding with her white partner, John.

Unfortunately, there were some editing blips (missing or extra words) peppered throughout. If those were rectified, this would be a solid 5 star read, for sure! But even with said editing snafus I can only deduct a half star, I was able to remain in the moment and in the world with Hontas throughout. 

A truly engaging read. Pick up your copy HERE and prepare for a great ride. 

