Book Review: Hart Broken by Annie Arcane

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5 out of 5 stars 

I’m almost at a loss for words after the ride this book took me on… almost!

I absolutely loved how tragic and broken and flawed Mickey and Cale were. They felt like genuinely real people. Mickey’s internal dialogue was so true-to-life it had me cracking up at times. And the supporting cast of characters? Priceless! Mickey’s friends… Cale’s family… loved them. I could read whole books about them. 

The struggles Mickey and Cale faced were presented so genuinely, without guile or apology. I particularly enjoyed the glimpse into the life of a non-traditional but still hunky hero: Cale’s paraplegia was, in a sense, its own character. I could empathize with Cale’s frustration for everything he’d lost, everything he longed for. As for Mickey, I have to admit that I suspected rather early on what her ‘hang up’ was, but my knowing in no way detracted from the beauty of their story. 

If you’re a reader who craves a tidy, HEA ending, you might be disappointed, however I felt this book’s ending held the precise blend of catharsis and hope its characters (and I) needed. Without a doubt I will be waiting eagerly for Annie Arcane’s next book, steaming cup of coffee at the ready… ’cause I know I’ll be up all night reading. Can’t wait to see what comes next for these two!

Pick up your copy HERE. Seriously, go get it. Like now!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

